The first brick of Memur-Sen was laid with the establishment of the Trade Union of Educator on February 14th, 1992. As further trade unions emerged, they united under the Confederation of Public Servants Trade Union (Memur-Sen) on June 9th, 1995.

Memur-Sen was presided by M. Akif İnan, who was elected in the first Plenary General Assembly on June 9th, 1995, until his passing on January 6th, 2000. As a poet, author and philosopher, M. Akif İnan released numerous journals and newspaper articles. Various publishing houses have collected M. Akif İnan's articles and poems into a book. İnan was a pioneer of public servants' trade union establishments in Turkey.

Following the passing of founding president M. Akif İnan, Zübeyir Yetik as assigned to the presidency chair of Memur-Sen by the Executive Board of Memur-Sen. Upon his resignation from the chair on February 21st, 2000, Fatih Uğurlu was elected to the presidency in the extraordinary general assembly meeting.

When Fatih Uğurlu resigned from the office on May 3rd, 2003, Dr. Mehmet Aksu was assigned to the presidency in the Executive Board meeting on June 5th, 2003, who was re-elected in the Second General Assembly on May 1st, 2005.

Holding 41.871 members by 2001 when the Law No. 4688 was passed, Memur-Sen reached 314.701 members by the time Ahmet Gündoğdu was elected to the presidency in the Third General Assembly on April 26th, 2008.

Memur-Sen's message of "opting out of collective agreement without a collective bargaining table" paid off and the parties agreed to hold a workshop to discuss all aspects of public servants' right to collective agreement and strike.

Memur-Sen made considerable contributions to the constitutional amendment by voting yes on both "collective agreement and social agreement" in the referendum held on September 12th, 2010. Public servants gained the right to collective agreement when the nation said yes to the constitutional amendment referendum.

According to the official figures of 2016, all 11 trade unions under Memur-Sen enjoyed this right and the total number of members reached 956 thousand, making Memur-Sen the biggest non-governmental organization in Turkey. With its more than 956.000 members today, Memur-Sen is the biggest confederation with the largest authority that it keeps over all 11 service branches.

Mr. Ali Yalçın was elected to the President of Memur-Sen in its congressional election held on April 18-19, 2015. He also runs the presidency of the Trade Union of Educators.